Call for nominations to new prescriptive authority task force

The task force will review the prescriptive authority training program and model legislation.

The Board of Educational Affairs (BEA) and Committee for the Advancement for Professional Practice (CAPP) are creating a joint task force to review and revise the APA Recommended Postdoctoral Education and Training Program in Psychopharmacology for Prescriptive Authority. Nominate yourself or another individual to serve on this task force. The details are as follows:

Task force charge

The task force shall be charged to review the APA Recommended Postdoctoral Education and Training Program in Psychopharmacology for Prescriptive Authority (model curriculum; APA, 2009) and Model Legislation for Prescriptive Authority (PDF, 63KB) (model legislation; APA, 2009) and make recommendations regarding revisions.  At the time of approval, it was noted that these documents should be reviewed and updated in five years, given the rapidly changing knowledge base in this area and divergent perspectives on the sequence of training.

Additionally, the committee suggested that the task force, in fulfilling their charge, consider the following:

  • What are the education and training requirements for prescriptive authority in states where psychologists are allowed to prescribe, how much overlap and difference exist?
  • At what level is it appropriate to begin such training and what components of the training can be taken at what level?
  • The balance between enough specificity in the required elements of the curriculum to ensure consistent training vs. allowing program flexibility.
  • The components of the supervised experience.

The task force will conduct its initial work via conference call and electronic mail. A face to face meeting to be held in Washington, D.C., may be scheduled by the task force to occur in fall 2017. Task force member expenses related to this meeting will be covered by APA.


The APA Recommended Postdoctoral Training in Psychopharmacology for Prescription Privileges (1996 Recommended Training) was approved in 1996. In 2006, the Council of Representatives authorized a joint BEA-CAPP Task Force to review that document and recommend any necessary updates and revisions. The APA Recommended Postdoctoral Education and Training Program in Psychopharmacology for Prescriptive Authority (model curriculum) and Model Legislation for Prescriptive Authority were approved by the Council of Representatives in 2009 and defined the training needs and minimum competencies required for prescriptive authority.

In 2009, APA also established a process to designate postdoctoral education and training programs in psychopharmacology. The purpose of designation is to afford public recognition of education and training programs that meet certain minimum standards and published criteria, which are set forth in the Designation Criteria for Postdoctoral Education and Training Programs in Psychopharmacology (PDF, 62KB) also approved by the APA Council of Representatives in August 2009. The criteria for designation are derived from the model curriculum. Oversight for the designation process occurs through the Designation Committee for Postdoctoral Education and Training Programs in Psychopharmacology for Prescriptive Authority (RxP Designation Committee). The RxP Designation Committee has discussed the need for review of and revisions to the model curriculum and as needed the model legislation and has recommended to BEA and CAPP that a task force is formed to undertake this.

Proposed membership

BEA and CAPP will appoint eight members (including a chair) to the task force from those that apply. The task force shall represent individuals with the following areas of expertise:

  • APA designated training program representatives (e.g., trainers, academics, etc.).
  • Prescribing psychologists.
  • Individuals with expertise in any of the following areas: psychopharmacology, substance use/abuse, integrated primary care, diversity/underserved populations, children and adolescents, geriatrics.
  • Former or current member of the RxP Designation Committee.
  • Prescribers from other professions.

Those interested in serving on the task force should submit:

  • A CV or resume documenting experience and knowledge related to the charge of this task force.
  • A one-page letter specifically articulating how qualifications relate to the charge of this task force.

Nomination materials should be sent by May 10, 2017 to:

Shannon Wood
State Advocacy Assistant
State Advocacy Practice Directorate

For questions or more information:

Deborah C. Baker, JD
Director of Legal & Regulatory Policy
Legal & Regulatory Affairs Practice Directorate
(202) 336-5886