CAPP election results announced

Find out who is representing you for 2016.

By Governance Operations staff

For the first time, APA Practice Organization (APAPO) members were given the opportunity to elect members to serve on the Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice (CAPP) — the governance committee dedicated to APAPO that reports to the APAPO Board of Directors. Previously, CAPP members were nominated and elected by the APA Council of Representatives.

Newly-elected members will serve a three-year term that begins Jan. 1, 2016.

The new members of CAPP are:

Slate 1:  Media, Public Relations and Public Education
Traci Cipriano, JD, PhD
Slate 2: Expertise in Institutional Practice, Schools and Public Sector
Kathleen Ashton, PhD
Slate 3: Expertise in State/Division Advocacy

Peter M. Oppenheimer, PhD

Returning CAPP members who will also serve in 2016 are:

Kathleen S. Brown, PhD
Lindsey Buckman, PsyD
June Ching, PhD
Arthur Evans, PhD
BraVada Garrett-Akinsanya, PhD
Jo Linder-Crow, PhD
Judy Patterson, PhD
Ruperto Perez, PhD
Derek Phillips, PsyD
Bonnie Markham, PhD, PsyD (Ex Officio)

The CAPP elections began with a nomination period that ran Feb. 12 through March 25. Once nominations closed, CAPP reviewed the nominations and proposed three slates for review and approval by the APAPO board of directors at its June meeting. The slates were set up to help ensure that CAPP has representation across practice types, settings and sizes, as well as diversity in the practitioners nominated and their geographic location. The voting period, which was handled by an outside firm, ran from July 31 through Sept. 18.