Advocates for psychology honored at SLC

Psychologists, legislators and state psychological associations were recognized for their achievements and efforts on behalf of professional psychology

by Communications Staff

Senator Leland Yee, PhD (D-CA) and APA Executive Director for Professional Practice, Katherine C. Nordal, PhD March 31, 2011—Psychologists, legislators and state associations were honored at the 2011 State Leadership Conference for their support of and commitment to psychology. The following awards were presented to recognize the work of these advocates on behalf of professional psychology: 

  • Senator Leland Yee, PhD (D-CA), won the American Psychological Association (APA) Practice Organization State Legislator of the Year Award in recognition of his long-standing efforts to support the professional practice of psychology, protect the public, and improve the mental health system in California.

  • U.S. Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), won the APA Outstanding Leadership Award for championing health care reform that continues the work of
    the Wellstone/Domenici Parity Act by integrating mental health with primary care. She was also recognized for her work with the committee chairs to avert the Medicare Sustainable Growth rate cuts and extend the restoration of Medicare reimbursement that was cut from outpatient mental health services in 2007.

  • Patricia Farrell, PhD, won the APA Practice Organization Outstanding Federal Advocacy Coordinator Award for excellence in advancing the profession of psychology through federal advocacy in the state of Illinois.

  • Jennifer F. Kelly, PhD, ABPP, of Atlanta, Georgia, won the APA Committee of State Leaders State Leadership Award for her exceptional service to the profession of psychology as a legislative and health-care advocate, mentor, professional officer, and practitioner.

  • Sarah Bowen, executive director of the Wisconsin Psychological Association won the State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs Outstanding SPTA Staff Member award from APA’s Div. 31 (State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs)  SPTA for her efforts to promote psychology through multifaceted advocacy and organizational effectiveness.

  • The Utah Psychological Association won the APA Div. 31 Most Outstanding SPTA Award for its successful legislative advocacy, innovative programming and advances in psychologists’ scope of practice.

  • The Illinois Psychological Association won the APA Div. 31 SPTA Diversity Award for advancing and sustaining diversity for its members and leadership.

  • The Iowa Psychological Association won the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) Award for Outstanding State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association of the Year for superior performance in promoting graduate student development, involvement and joint APAGS/SPTA membership. This award is co-sponsored by the APA Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice and Div. 31.

  • Photos from APA’s Sixth Annual Psychologically Healthy Workplace Awards can be seen on Facebook.